How To: Pimp Your Old Nails

A couple weeks back I got a gorgeous mani from a good friend of mine. Originally they were acrylic tips but I decided to add colour to make them more fun. My nails tend to grow pretty fast and the area around the cuticles give this off. It’s only been two weeks and I feel like going another without removing my nails. So here’s how I’ve just added a week to my old manicure.

What You Will Need

  • Clear polish/ top coat
  • Contrasting colour polish
  • Nail art ribbon
  • Scissors
  • Tweeters

Step 1

Wash your hands to remove any dirt and oil on your nails.  This will make sure your polish will apply smoothly and will not lift.


Step 2

Cut pieces of the ribbon long enough to sit across your nail. Use tweezers to place them diagonally and on top of each other to create desired design.

Step 3

Take your contrasting colour polish and apply all over nail. In this case I chose a matte turquoise enamel. Make sure to cover the whole nail thickly for full coverage of colour underneath. Do this in two thin coats.

Step 4

Using your tweezers, pull the pieces of ribbon off starting with the ones you applied last to avoid messing up your design. Just wait a few seconds before pulling and not when the polish has dried.

Step 5

Apply polish to the rest of the nails and follow with top coat. Clean up cuticles with a thin brush soaked in polish remover and moisturize your hands with a hand crean. 

So that’s it guys, how I pimped my old manicure under 30minutes in the comfort of my bedroom๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„

Follow me on Instagram by clicking HERE

2 thoughts on “How To: Pimp Your Old Nails

Leave a Reply

